Sunsetting the dialogue

Tomorrow we leave. Today we are busy.

Many of us are still tying up our last stories, making final minute edits, having food delivered to whichever location we are collectively holed up in working over our computers. As much work as I have to do, I feel very at ease and content surrounded by everyone. I will miss this.

I am proud to be a part of all the work we have done here and it is so satisfying seeing all of our stories filling up the online magazine.

There have been many moments where I have felt like this; leaving interviews where I really connected to the person, putting together video for the first time (thank you for your patience and Final Cut expertise, Danny) for Brandon’s amazing story and seeing it go up on the site, sitting at dinner with the friends I have made here reflecting on a long day’s work.

Even the days where I spent almost 10 hours in the hotel writing and editing photos, it felt like it was all amounting to something. And now we are all seeing the fruits of the labor we have put in.

Plus, Ellie was always there in those (eternally long) moments to cheer me up with snacks and motivation  because she’s the best of all time ever.

I will hold onto these experiences always. This dialogue has been one of the most, if not the most, fulfilling, challenging and teaching thing I have ever done.

This place is beautiful, the people are welcoming and genuine and I am so grateful to have seen it.

The other day a few of us went to Carlene’s apartment where she has the most beautiful rooftop patio with a gorgeous view of the Acropolis. As the sun was setting, Mike suggested making a time-lapse of the lights coming on around the Parthenon and the sky slowing fading into night.

I took him up on that. It’s here:

I hope you enjoy it.

 

Author: Bridget Ann Peery

Boston-based Freelance Writer and Photographer | Aide at the Massachusetts State House

Leave a comment